Supervisors Room, Courthouse Pocahontas, Iowa July 30, 2024

The Board of Supervisors of Pocahontas County, Iowa, met for a regular session pursuant to adjournment. Members present: Chairman, Kyle Smith; Supervisors, Jeff Ives, Louis Stauter, Clarence Siepker, Brent Aden; Auditor, Nita Hinrickson. Others present: Reporter, Erin Sommers, John Runneberg, Kalista Wagner, Kristi Seiler, Craig Kolacia and Anderson Window/Quaker Commercial representatives: Dusty Fick, Jeff Mehmen and Eric Wondale.

Motion by Clarence Siepker, seconded by Brent Aden, to approve the minutes from July 23, 2024 as presented. Ayes all, motion carried.

Motion by Jeff Ives, seconded by Louis Stauter, to approve the agenda as posted. Ayes all, motion carried.

Tate Schmeling, County Engineer requested re-hiring Steve Halligan as a part-time truck driver at \$23.95/hr. with no benefits. Motion by Brent Aden to approve the rehire of Steve Halligan, seconded by Clarence Siepker. Ayes all, motion carried. Tate presented the job description for an Engineering Technician. Motion by Jeff Ives to advertise for the Engineering Technician position, seconded by Brent Aden. Ayes all, motion carried.

Tate requested the board look at adding longevity into the pay scale. He has looked at his budget and could make it work if the change was implemented by revising amounts in different categories without an increase to his budget. The Board stated that they would need to talk to Paul Greufe, HR Representative and meet with a new wage survey committee. Tate also stated that he had two employees that were hired before the new pay scale was in place and that both have been here over a year and should receive the 1 year pay jump. No action was taken by the Board.

Anderson/Quaker Commercial presented on the style and efficiency of their windows. Craig Kolacia will provide the Board with a contract quote to serve as Project Manager for window replacements. One window will be taken out initially to see what issues there may be.

Motion by Brent Aden, seconded by Clarence Siepker to approve the reappointments of Kristi Seiler as Deputy Auditor, Laura Erickson as Elections Deputy Auditor and Bryan Rahn and Real Estate Deputy Auditor under Nita Hinrickson as the new Auditor.

Amy Johnson, County Treasurer, advised the Board at the July 23, 2024 meeting that the Depository Public Fund maximum for 2023 needed to be corrected to \$15,000,000 which was adopted on January 24, 2023 and increase the Depositories of Public Funds maximum for Pocahontas State Bank and IPAIT to \$23,500,000.00 for the LEC Bond. Motion by Clarence Siepker, seconded by Brent Aden, to adopt a new Depositories of Public Funds Resolution. The Chairman called the question with the following recorded vote: Ayes: Ives, Stauter, Smith, Siepker, Aden. Nays: none. Whereby the Chairman declared the resolution duly adopted to-wit:

Resolution-2024-07-#31 Depositories of Public Funds

WHEREAS, the Board of Supervisors of Pocahontas County, Iowa met with Treasurer, Amy Johnson and WHEREAS, it was determined there was a need to increase the amount authorized to be deposited by the Treasurer, and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, BY THIS Board of Supervisors of Pocahontas County, IA, that in accordance to with the provisions of Section 12C.2 of the Iowa Code, that we hereby authorize the County Treasurer, **Amy Johnson**, to deposit funds in her hands into the Pocahontas State Bank, Pocahontas; Availa Bank, Pocahontas; Community State Bank, Laurens; United Bank of Iowa in Rolfe and Pocahontas; First Community Bank in Fonda and Pomeroy; West Iowa Bank in Laurens; IPAIT in Des Moines; and Drainage Warrants/Improvement Certificates not to exceed the maximum amounts as hereby set below.

DEPOSITORIES	LOCATION	Max for 2023	Max for 2024
Pocahontas State Bank	Pocahontas, IA	\$15,000,000	\$23,500,000
Availa Bank	Pocahontas, IA	\$15,000,000	\$15,000,000
Community State Bank	Laurens, IA	\$15,000,000	\$15,000,000
United Bank of Iowa	Rolfe, IA	\$15,000,000	\$15,000,000
United Bank of Iowa	Pocahontas, IA	\$15,000,000	\$15,000,000
First Community Bank	Fonda, IA	\$15,000,000	\$15,000,000
First Community Bank	Pomeroy, IA	\$15,000,000	\$15,000,000
West Iowa Bank	Laurens, IA	\$15,000,000	\$15,000,000
IPAIT	Des Moines, IA	\$15,000,000	\$23,500,000
Drainage Warrants/ Improvement Certificates	County	\$6,000,000	\$6,000,000

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the following banks to be depositories and the Elected Officials named below shall deposit funds in the amounts not to exceed the amounts named opposite each of said designated depositories and said Officials are hereby authorized to deposit the funds in each bank as follows:

Availa Bank Cathy Frerk, Recorder \$50,000 Pocahontas State Bank Steve Nelson, Sheriff \$50,000

Approved and adopted this 30th day of July, 2024. By: Pocahontas County Board of Supervisors

/s/Kyle Smith, Chairman, /s/Jeffrey K. Ives, /s/Louis Stauter, /s/Clarence Siepker, /s/Brent Aden

ATTEST: /s/Nita Hinrickson, County Auditor

Motion by Jeff Ives, seconded by Brent Aden, to authorize the Chairperson to sign the letter to change and add authorized signers for Corebridge Financial to Nita Hinrickson, Auditor and Kristi Seiler and Laura Erickson, Deputy Auditors. Ayes all, motion carried.

Motion by Brent Aden, seconded by Clarence Siepker, to acknowledge the receipt of the following MMP's: (1) Ekstrand Farms – ID# 67371 SW SW, Sec. 36 Grant Township Dean Ekstrand as owners & contact person; (2) Randy Plantz #1-ID# 6112 NE NE, Sec. 18 Grant Township Randy Plantz as owner & contact person; (3) Skog Robert – ID# 57844 NE NE, Sec. 36 Fairfield Township, BV Co. Robert Skog as owner & contact person; (4) Wheatley Turkey Farm – ID# 66824 NW NE, Sec. 25 Grant Township Bruce Wheatley as owner & contact person.

d

Weekly meetings: Ives- CFR and Jake Brak Aden- MIDAS.	ke Concerns; Stauter- None; Smith- Window Bids; Siepker- Rolling Hills an
There being no further business, a motion vertice meeting adjourned. Ayes all, motion carried	was made by Clarence Siepker, seconded by Louis Stauter, to declare the d.
Kyle Smith, Chairman	Nita Hinrickson, Auditor