Supervisors Room, Courthouse Pocahontas, Iowa January 30, 2024

The Board of Supervisors of Pocahontas County, Iowa, met for a regular session pursuant to adjournment. Members present: Chairman, Kyle Smith; Supervisors, Jeff Ives, Louis Stauter, Clarence Siepker, Brent Aden; and Auditor, Kelly Jepsen. Others present: Reporter, Erin Sommers.

Motion by Siepker, seconded by Aden, to approve the from January 23, 2024 as presented. Ayes all, motion carried.

Motion by Ives, seconded by Stauter, to approve the agenda as posted. Ayes all, motion carried.

Jack Moellering advised that someone is interested in purchasing some of their scrap steel beams. The Board explained that all tax payers are to be given the opportunity to purchase items the County wants to dispose of. The Capital Assets Policy needs to be followed. It was decided that Secondary Roads will advertise the items for sale using sealed bids with a minimum amount.

Motion by Aden, seconded by Siepker, to set a public hearing for the FY25 property tax levy for Monday, April 1, 2024 at 6:00 p.m. in the Assembly Room of the Courthouse. Ayes all, motion carried.

Motion by Stauter, seconded by Siepker, to appoint Cody DeWall as the City of Pocahontas representative and Sandy Wells as the City of Fonda representative to the EMS Advisory Council. Ayes all, motion carried.

Jepsen spoke with Benefits, Inc. about a new process for the partially self-funding account and flex spending account. Currently Benefits, Inc. sends an email with the amount they will withdraw the next day, the new process will be that they will send the email and the Treasurer will initiate the transfer. The funds will be held in an internal account so the Treasurer can invest the funds. Motion by Siepker, seconded by Aden, to approve the new process for the partially self-funded account and the flex spending account. Ayes all, motion carried.

Due to an error, an investment company was able to purchase a tax sale certificate on parcel 07-31-456-013 for \$546.06. After discussion, a motion by Siepker, seconded by Aden, to send a letter to Cedar Grove Investments apprising of the error, refund their money and abate the outstanding taxes, except for any drainage. Ayes all motion carried.

Motion by Siepker, seconded by Aden, to acknowledge receipt of Manure Management Plans: (1) Cummins North– ID# 65111 located in the SE SW, Section 16, Cummins Township with Hawkeye Partners LLP as owner & Scott Jacobsen as contact person; (2) Cummins South– ID# 65112 located in the SE SE, Section 32, Cummins Township with Hawkeye Partners LLP as owner & Scott Jacobsen as contact person; (3) DeYoung Finisher– ID# 61831 located in the SE SE, Section 17, Sherman Township with Middle Creek Swine, LLC as owner & Steve Licht as contact person; (4) Baker 1 Finisher – ID# 61828 located in the SE SW, Section 13, Marshall Township with Middle Creek Swine, LLC as owner & Steve Licht as contact person; (5) PI-251– ID# 65720 located in the NW NW, Section 21, Powhatan Township with Prestage Farms of Iowa LLC as owner & contact; (6) Jeff Grossnickle Site 2 – ID# 59198 located in the NW SW, Section 31, Rush Lake Township, Palo Alto County with Jeff Grossnickle as owner & contact person; and (7) Farm 235-Reed – ID# 67051 located in the SE NE, Section 26, Dover Township with New Fashion Pork as owner & Sarah Withers as contact person. Ayes all, motion carried.

Weekly meetings: All Supervisors participated in FY 25 budget meeting. Additionally, Ives-CFR; Stauter-HR meeting; Smith-HR meeting; Siepker-Upper Des Moines, North Racoon Watershed meeting and Linking Families; and Aden-Midas.

There being no further business, a motion was made by Stauter, seconded by Siepker, to adjourn the meeting. Ayes all, motion carried.

Kyle Smith, Chairman

Kelly Jepsen, County Auditor

Supervisors Room, Courthouse Pocahontas, Iowa January 30, 2024

At 11:00 a.m., the Board of Supervisors of Pocahontas County, Iowa, held a workshop to discuss the FY25 County Budget.

The Board of Supervisors of Pocahontas County, Iowa, met for a regular session pursuant to adjournment. Members present: Chairman, Kyle Smith; Supervisors, Jeff Ives, Louis Stauter, Clarence Siepker, Brent Aden; and Auditor, Kelly Jepsen. Others present: Reporter, Erin Sommers.

Discussion on self-funding, wages, the levy and department budget requests were discussed. Jepsen provided spreadsheets for their review and will be discussed at the next budget workshop.

Workshop ended at 1:30 p.m.

Kyle Smith, Chairman

Kelly Jepsen, Auditor