NEW IOWA ELECTION LAW Q&A

Q: When do the polls close for the General
Election?

A: The polls close at 8:00 pm for ALL
elections.

Q: How many days before an election do I
need to register to vote if I’m not registered
or if I moved, and I want my name to be on
the voter register at the polls?

A: 15 days.

Q: May I still register to vote at the polls?
A: Yes. Youwill need both proof of identity
(which everyone needs) AND proof of
residence.

Q: When may I request an absentee ballot?
A: 70 days before the election.

Q: Will the county auditor send absentee
ballot request forms to all voters in the
county?

A. No. State law now prohibits this. If you
personally request an absentee ballot request
form, your auditor will send you one.

Q: Will the Secretary of State’s Office send
absentee ballot request forms to all voters in
the state?

A. No. unless directed to do so by the state
legislature during a public health disaster.

Q: Will ANYONE do large mailings of
absentee ballot request forms to voters?

A. Probably, at least for General Elections.
Political parties and other private organizations
are not prohibited from sending them out.

Q: After I send in my absentee ballot request
form, when will the county auditor mail me
my ballot?

A: The auditor will start mailing absentee
ballots 20 days before the election.

Q: When is the first day I can vote absentee
in person at the Auditor’s Office?

A: 20 days before the election. You should
only vote at the office if you have not requested
a ballot by mail.

Q: When is the last day that I can request an
absentee ballot by mail?

A: The county auditor must receive your
request form at least 15 days before the election.
(For exceptions, see below.)

Q: Whatis the deadline for getting my
absentee ballot back to the county auditor?
A: The county auditor must have your ballot by
the close of the polls, which is 8:00 pm on
election day.

Q: Won’t my ballot be counted as long as it
is postmarked before election day?

A: NO. The law changed, and your ballot must
be in the possession of the county auditor by
8:00 pm on election day.

Q: When is the last day to vote an absentee
ballot in person at the auditor’s office?

A: The day before the election. (This didn’t
change.)

Q: May I return someone else’s absentee
ballot, or may someone else return my
absentee ballot?

A: The only people who may return a voter’s
absentee ballot (we re talking about the
BALLOT, NOT the ballot REQUEST FORM)
are the voter, someone living in the voter’s
household, an immediate family member, or, if
the voter is blind or has another disability, a
special delivery agent. (For exceptions and
details. see below.)

For exceptions, details, and more law changes,
click here for the 2021 Election Law Changes for
Iowa Voters, published by the Iowa State
Association of County Auditors.

https://pocahontascounty.iowa.gov/auditor/
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This is a list of important changes to lowa election law passed
by the 2021 lowa legislature. These changes are effective
immediately.

VOTER REGISTRATION
ABSENTEE VOTING
VOTING AT THE POLLS

VOTER REGISTRATION ABSENTEE VOTING

Voters must register to vote 15 days or The first day to submit an absentee ballot request form to your County
more before the election to appear on the Auditor is 70 days before an election (formerly 120 days).

voter register on election day (formerly 11
days, and 10 days for general elections).
Voters may still register to vote on election

* The first day County Auditors may mail absentee ballots to voters is 20
days before an election (formerly 29 days).

day, or when voting absentee in person, * The first day to vote absentee in person at the Auditor’s Office is 20

with both proof of identity AND proof of days before an election (formerly 29 days). (If you have requested a

residence ballot by mail prior to this, your ballot will go out in the mail on this
date.)

* The first day to vote absentee in person at a satellite location is
20 days before the election (formerly 29 days), and satellite voting
locations may only be established by a public petition with a minimum

l, of 100 signatures (formerly County Auditors could establish satellite
H locations on their own motion).

* Absentee ballot requests for voting by mail must be received by 15

con faot yourA d .‘tar days before the election (formerly 11 days, and 10 days for general

elections). Exception: If a voter is admitted to a health care facility,
0 “M tV dementia-specific assisted living program, or hospital 14 or fewer
days before the election, the voter may request an absentee ballot by

telephone no later than 4:00 pm on election day.

VOTING AT THE POLLS

Polls close at 8:00 pm for all elections (formerly 9:00 pm for primary and general elections).

* When a registered voter is attesting to the identity and residency of a voter unable to present required forms of
identification, the attesting voter must present his/her own required form of identification.

* For a provisional ballot to be counted, the voter must either provide the necessary identification at the polling place before
it closes at 8:00 pm, or provide it at the Auditor’s Office by noon on the following Monday. If the canvass by the Board of
Supervisors will be held earlier than the following Monday (for cities with possible runoff elections), the identification must
be provided before the canvass. (The post-election deadline was previously unclear.)

+ Employers must allow employees two consecutive hours to vote on election day, if they do not already have two consecutive
hours off during the time the polls are open (formerly three hours).
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Abseuntee voting continued...

» Absentee ballots must be received by the county auditor by 8:00 pm on election day.
(Previously, ballots were valid if postmarked before Election Day and received by the Monday following the election.)
Postmarks or bar codes printed on ballot envelopes will no longer make a ballot received after election day valid, except in
these cases:

= Ballots from participants in the Safe at Home program received by the Secretary of State in time to be transmitted to
the County Auditor by noon on the Monday following the election.
= Ballots from uniformed and overseas citizens received by noon on the Monday following the election.

+ |f an absentee ballot affidavit envelope is not sighed by the voter, the County Auditor shall contact the voter, who may then:
¢ Request a replacement ballot and return it by 8:00 pm on election day (changed from postmarked the day before the
election or earlier).
= Vote at the polls on election day.
= Sign the affidavit in person at the county auditor’s office by 8:00 pm on election day (changed from 5:00 pm the day
before the election).

ABSENTEE BALLOT REQUEST FORMS: RETURNING ABSENTEE BALLOTS:
Absentee ballot requests for voting by mail must be s The only people who may return a voted absentee ballot
received by the County Auditor 15 days before the other than the voter are:
election (see exception on previous page). = Someone living in the voter's household

¢ An immediate family member

= The two special precinct election officials who

* May not be sent to voters by County Auditors unless a deliver a ballot to the resident of a health care
voter requests one. facility, dementia-specific assisted living program,
or hospital

= Voters unable to return a ballot due to blindness
or other disability may use a “delivery agent” to
deliver their ballots. See below.*

* Must include the date the request is signed.

* May not be sent to voters by the Secretary of State
unless directed to do so by the state legislature in
the event of a public health disaster declared by the

BQHEIORE +« Absentee ballots may be returned via designated ballot
* May be sent to voters by candidates, political groups, drop boxes (unless returned by a “delivery agent” *),
and other private organizations, but no fields on the which if available must be located on the grounds of or
request form may be prefilled except for type and date within the building where the County Auditor conducts
of election. in-person absentee voting, (Auditors are not required to

provide drop boxes.)

*RETURNING ABSENTEE BALLOTS - DISABILITY EXCEPTION - DELIVERY AGENTS: Inthecaseof a
voter unable to return a ballot due to blindness or other disability, the voter may ask a “delivery agent” to deliver their ballot.

e “Delivery agent” is defined as follows:

> |owa registered voter The delivery agent must:
o Adelivery agent cannot be: s Deliver the ballotin person to the
=  The voter's employer or an agent of the employer County Auditor, not by mail or drop box.

= An officer or agent of the voter's union
=  An actual or implied agent for a political party, candidate
or committee

Provide to the County Auditor the same
identification as a voter at the polls.

*  Provide the following on a form
prescribed by the Secretary of State:
= Full legal name

* |f a voter with a disability designates a delivery agent, the voter must
complete and sign a designation form prescribed by the Secretary of

stale = Residential address
s Adelivery agent shall return no more than two absentee ballots per = Phone number
election. ¢ Email address, if applicable
¢ The delivery agent shall fill out a receipt in a form prescribed by the * Sign a statement (prescribed in the
Secretary of State and shall leave it with the voter. law) certifying under penalty of perjury
* The delivery agent shall collect the voter's designation form at the J\E’:?ﬁ izz Tiaevl\:very EgrRtiBsrsemplied

same time as collecting the ballot, and shall deliver the ballot and
designation form to the County Auditor at the same time.
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